Skip to main content

City Council

 

Members of Council 2010 - 2014

Mayor John G. Henry

Mayor

(905) 436-5611
jhenry@oshawa.ca

Biography

Mayor John G. Henry

John R. Aker

Regional and City Councillor

(905) 436-5612
jaker@oshawa.ca

John R. Aker

Dan Carter

Regional and City Councillor

(905) 436-5616
dcarter@oshawa.ca

 

Bob Chapman

Regional and City Councillor

(905) 436-5619
bchapman@oshawa.ca

Link to Councillor Chapman's Biography

Bob Chapman

Nancy Diamond

Regional and City Councillor

(905) 436-5613
ndiamond@oshawa.ca

Nancy Diamond

Amy England

Regional and City Councillor

(905) 436-5614
aengland@oshawa.ca

Amy England

Rick Kerr

City Councillor

(905) 436-5632
rkerr@oshawa.ca

 

John Neal

Regional and City Councillor

(905) 436-5610
jneal@oshawa.ca

John Neal

Nester Pidwerbecki

Regional and City Councillor

(905) 436-5615
npidwerbecki@oshawa.ca

Nester Pidwerbecki

Doug Sanders

City Councillor

(905) 436-5603
dsanders@oshawa.ca

Link to Councillor Sanders' Biography

Doug Sanders

John Shields

City Councillor

(905) 436-5624
jshields@oshawa.ca

 

Oshawa Electoral System

The Council of the City of Oshawa is made up of eleven members - one Mayor, seven Regional Councillors and three City Councillors.

The Mayor is elected at large by electors throughout the City, heads the Council of the City of Oshawa and is also a representative of the City on the Council of the Regional Municipality of Durham.

Seven Regional Councillors are elected at large by electors throughout the City to represent the City on both the Council of the City of Oshawa and the Council of the Regional Municipality of Durham.

Three City Councillors are elected at large by electors throughout the City to represent the City on the Council of the City of Oshawa.

How to Correspond with Members of Council

How do I contact individual Council members?

  • Members of City Council are elected at large, meaning they do not represent a specific area of the City, but rather, represent the entire City.
  • Residents can contact any Member of Council.

Note: Letters or emails to individual Council members are sent directly to that person. They are not placed on a Standing Committee or Council agenda unless requested by the Council member.

How do I send letters or emails to individual Council members?

  • Mail letters to Councillors’ Office, 50 Centre Street South, Oshawa, ON L1H 3Z7
  • Fax at 905-436-5691
  • Email:  click on the following link for a listing of individual email addresses

How do I officially correspond with City Council, one of the Standing Committees or one of the Advisory Committees of Council?

To officially correspond with City Council, one of its Standing Committees, or one of the Advisory Committees of Council:

  • Mail to City Clerk Services, 50 Centre Street South, Oshawa, ON L1H 3Z7
  • Fax at 905-436-5697
  • Email:  clerks@oshawa.ca

What happens to letters or emails sent to City Council, Standing Committees or Advisory Committees of Council?

  • Letters addressed to City Council, Standing Committees or Advisory Committees are placed on a public agenda which is distributed to Council members, various City staff, and the media. Council, Standing Committee and Advisory Comittee agendas are available to the public at City Hall (Service Oshawa) and on the City’s website.
  • Agendas on the City’s website are located on the A-Z Services listing under "Agendas and Minutes".
  • Letters and staff reports listed on Committee agendas are available through hyperlinks imbedded in the agenda documents.
  • Council agendas contain hyperlinks only for those documents which have not been processed through a Committee.

Note: Any personal information you choose to disclose in your letter will become part of the public record. It is the City’s practice to publish your name on the Internet. You may request, in writing, the removal of your personal contact information, other than your name, from correspondence posted on the internet.

Contact
Location: 2nd Floor, West Wing, City Hall
50 Centre Street South
Oshawa, Ontario L1H 3Z7
Phone: 905-436-5601
Toll Free: 1-800-667-4292
Fax: 905-436-5691
TTY: 905-436-5627